ASM Award in Clinical and Diagnostic Immunology
Honors a distinguished scientist in clinical or diagnostic immunology for outstanding contributions to those fields.

Beckman-Coulter Young Investigator Award
Recognizes research excellence and potential to further the educational or research objectives of an outstanding young clinical scientist.

BD Award for Research in Clinical Microbiology
Honors a distinguished clinical microbiologist for outstanding research accomplishments leading to or forming the foundation for important applications in clinical microbiology.

bioMerieux Sonnenwirth Award for Leadership in Clinical Microbiology
Recognizes a distinguished microbiologist for the promotion of innovation in clinical laboratory science, dedication to ASM, and the advancement of clinical microbiology as a profession.

Eli Lilly and Company-Elanco Research Award
ASM's oldest and most prestigious prize, it rewards fundamental research of unusual merit in microbiology or immunology by an individual who has not reached his/her 45th birthday.

Hardy Diagnostics ABMM/ABMLI Professional Recognition Award
Recognizes an ABMM or ABMLI Diplomate for outstanding contributions to the professional recognition of clinical microbiologists and/or immunologists.

Hologic Joseph Public Health Award
Honors a distinguished microbiologist who has exhibited exemplary leadership and service in the field of public health.

Maurice Hilleman Award
ASM's premier award for major contributions to pathogenesis, vaccine discovery, vaccine development, and/or control of vaccine-preventable diseases.

Merck Irving S. Sigal Memorial Awards
Recognize and award excellence in basic research in medical microbiology and infectious diseases.

Raymond W. Sarber Awards
Recognizes students at the undergraduate and predoctoral levels for research excellence and potential.

Scherago-Rubin Award
Recognizes an outstanding, bench-level clinical microbiologist. The award was established by the late Sally Jo Rubin, an active member of ASM's Clinical Microbiology Division, in honor of her grandfather, Professor Morris Scherago.

ASM 2018 New Tech Professional Development Grant Program
ASM Microbe 2018 June 7-11, 2018
Atlanta, Georgia

If you are a relatively new clinical laboratory scientist (CLS) or equivalent working in a clinical microbiology laboratory, are directly involved with bench work, have aspirations of doing more and possibly assume a leadership role, you may be eligible for an ASM $1,500 Professional Development Grant. The eligibility criteria are―

  • Worked as a clinical microbiologist for more than 1 and less than 5 years at the time of application
  • Non-doctoral level professional
  • ASM member
  • Never attended an ASM General or Microbe Meeting
  • Not presenting a poster or talk at the 2018 meeting

This grant is designed to inspire beginning non-doctoral level clinical microbiologists to get more engaged in our profession by attending the 2018 ASM Microbe meeting. The grant will be used for the meeting registration fee and to help defray travel expenses. During the meeting, you will interact with a pre-assigned mentor, attend symposia, visit poster sessions, peruse industry-sponsored exhibits featuring the latest technological advances, have the opportunity to network with other new and "seasoned" microbiologists and learn more about the profession of microbiology.

Application information for the 2018 grant program will be posted in December 2017.

Read testimonials from 2017 grant recipients.